Many states have Romeo and Juliet laws that protect minors who have sex with minors from prosecution. These laws prevent teens who engage in sexual activity with each other from having a criminal record. Unfortunately, Missouri does not have the law of Romeo and Juliet. In most states, the age of consent is about 18, with one year to the limit. The age of consent in Missouri is similar to that of other states. Those who are 18 and older are considered adults in the eyes of the law, but many states also set age limits for minors with respect to certain legal obligations and privileges. For example, in most states, minors can consent to certain medical treatments or ask the court to emancipate themselves from their parents. In general, state laws identify specific legal processes that minors may face and have made exceptions to accommodate them. Before the law went into effect earlier this month, Missouri was just one of the few states that didn`t consider 17-year-olds. Penalties for violating the age of consent in Missouri can be extremely severe. The State permits life imprisonment if the victim is under twelve years of age, if serious bodily harm was threatened or imposed, or if more than one perpetrator was involved.
There are 10 legally required cases of sexual abuse in Missouri books that can be used to prosecute age-of-consent crimes in the state. One or more of these charges can be used to prosecute Missouri age of consent violations. The State has no formal procedure for the emancipation of minors in which a minor is declared “of age” in the eyes of the law (and is therefore entitled to all the privileges and responsibilities of adulthood). But Missouri allows the emancipation of minors by court order in certain limited circumstances, including: Learn more about Missouri`s statutory age laws in the table below and related links to related topics. More articles can be found in the Emancipation of Minors section of FindLaw. Legal first-degree rape in the state of Missouri is when a person has sex with a person under the age of 14. Generally, this is a Class A felony in Missouri and carries a maximum sentence of life imprisonment with a minimum sentence of at least 5 years. “We think in many cases we`ll be able to help these kids and distract them again from going to jail and digging deeper into the criminal justice system,” Prince said. “So we`re looking forward to working with this population, and we just want to make sure we`re on a legal basis to do so.” Missouri minors who commit crimes have different legal differences than adults.
Under the Missouri Juvenile Code, judgments against children are intended to keep the best interests of the young person in mind. The Greene juvenile justice system is ready to accept 17-year-olds. But administrators say they don`t believe they have legal jurisdiction. And they need money to implement change. State law confers jurisdiction over 17-year-olds on juvenile courts only if the legislature allocates additional funds to the initiative. If you`re a teen considering running away from home, consider these safe and legal options instead: If a person in the state of Missouri is under the age of 21, they can have sex with someone 14 or older. Once a person reaches the age of 21 or older in the state of Missouri, they cannot have sex with someone under the age of 17. Whether legal or not, it`s never a good idea to test the waters with a legal charge of rape, these are serious charges with harsh penalties that we`ll discuss below. “They`re looking at an indictment against a 17-year-old to determine what the law says about jurisdiction,” Greene County District Attorney Dan Patterson said. “And I hope that will give us some clarity when this case is decided.” The age of consent in Missouri is 17. This is the age at which a person is legally considered old enough to consent to sexual activity.