Once approved, you can safely apply a special window tint to your vehicle. Even with one exception, you may not have a tint that lets less than 23% light into your vehicle. Just like the normal tint of car windows, this also allows for a 3% deviation. First, color manufacturers must certify the film they sell. If you visit a shade retailer, you need to make sure they only use certified shades. All you have to do is choose one that is within the legal range and you`re done. · Labels indicating that tinted windows meet condition specifications are no longer required. Under Georgian law, it is illegal to ring the window of a car, van or SUV that thinks more than 20%. If you are arrested, it is possible that the agent tests the tint of your windows with a special tool. If the amount of light allowed in your vehicle is below the legal limit, you will likely receive a ticket.
Georgian laws allow a transmission tolerance of 3%. This means that if your shade is just a little darker than it should be, you`re still in the safe zone. There is also a section with a lot of common questions that people ask us about the current window tint law in the state of Georgia, and you can see this FAQ section at the bottom of this page. Before deciding which movie to choose, you should always consider what the legal nuance is in GA. Penalties can be severe if you decide to exceed the legal limit for the tint of your vehicle`s windows. Read on for more detailed information, and of course, feel free to call or email us if you have any questions about the State of Georgia`s Window Tint Act. If you`re looking for a high-quality car window shade in Georgia, look no further than Maximum Shade Tinting. We are the leading and trusted window film specialists in the Burford and Braselton areas. If you have certain medical conditions, you may be able to get an exemption that allows for a darker shade. You must complete an application that includes a declaration from a state-licensed physician or optician.
You will need to confirm that you have a physical problem that requires a dark window shade and you will have to pay the $10 registration fee. Akins Ford`s official accessory store, Wild Willies, specializes in custom vehicle accessories with a variety of ways to customize your vehicle. Our experts take care of window tints, sprayed bed linen, car radio and electronics, wheels and tires and much more. Interested in a non-binding consultation? We invite you to speak to a team member online, by phone or in person when you visit our store in Atlanta, GA. The 32% shade is the darkest legal shade according to Georgia Automotive`s window tint rules. Georgia State does not have a specific tint rule for side mirrors. When you bring us your vehicle, we make sure it looks good, blocks the sun`s UV rays and complies with all Georgian laws on tint. In other cases, you may be fined about $100 for your first illegal tinted glass ticket.
If you don`t remove the hue and get a second ticket, it`s likely to fall into the $200+ range. Black is the new black when it comes to automotive detailing these days, and adding a custom window tint is a cost-effective step in turning your vehicle into a feast for the eyes. But how dark is the darkness for the law? Here, we answer the question of what is the darkest window shade considered legal in the state of Georgia by taking a closer look at the state`s transportation laws and restrictions. Makes it an offence to violate certain window tint restrictions Application for exemption from the Georgia State Department of Public Safety Windows Tint Act [PDF] There is an application that you can complete and submit to the State of Georgia that allows you to have a darker window tint than the law allows if you have a medical reason and need a VLT [Visible Light] Transmission] darker. For people with skin conditions, light sensitivity, or other medical conditions aggravated by sun exposure, you can install a darker film [darker than 32%] on your car as long as it`s prescribed by a doctor. Click here to download or view the app: Application for exemption from the Window Tint Act If you`re looking for ways to combat the heat, adding window tint to your vehicle is a great idea. However, it is important to understand the dyeing laws in Georgia, otherwise you will face fines. In fact, breaking the law while driving a vehicle with illegally tinted windows can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to 12 months in jail! Hue darkness is measured by the percentage of visible light transmission [VLT%]. In Georgia, this percentage refers to the percentage of visible light let in through the combination of film and window. Llumar window films are recommended by the Skin Cancer Foundation, and there is a medical exemption. Tint of the windows of trucks, vans and SUVs: On these vehicles, only the color of the front door is regulated.
You are allowed to walk as dark as you like on all windows behind the 2 front doors. Consult one of our professional installers to find out the appropriate window tint percentages for your vehicle before purchasing window film. If you think the above maximum sentences sound extreme, you`re right. It is extremely unlikely that you will receive a $1,000 fine or jail time for illegal window tints. Revival of the Window Tint Act, which was recently ruled unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of Georgia with some minor amendments. When your shade is installed, you will have a sticker on your windshield that marks it as legal. This gives you another layer of protection. The sticker is required by state law, so make sure you get one! If you are caught with an illegal tint in Georgia, you can expect a $1,000 fine and even a 12-month jail sentence.